Composite One

Week eight was dedicated to our first composite assignment. This project charged us with  to creating a three ad campaign for a product, event, or cause to place a real magazine. So before I could do anything I needed to figure out the product and magazine to advertise it in. After researching a few topics that peaked my interest, I settled on doing an Ad campaign for Tesla motors, specifically their upcoming new model 3 sedan and I decided  advertise it in best selling automotive enthusiast magazine in the United States, which is currently Car and Driver magazine. The very first thing I put together was a Proposal to clearly defined all my idea, goals, and the mechanical specifications (Trim Size, Bleed Size, ext.) for my ads.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After creating my proposal and before investing any time in creating images, I need to plan out the layout, style, and fonts that I intend to use. For this I put together a simple Mood Board to figure out how best to layout my ads.themeboard After figuring out all the details of the Ad’s i intend to create, I am finally ready to begin creating my Ads. The first step was compiling my images using Adobe Photoshop.

  1. For the first the first Ad’s image, I combined three separate images. first_comp_02First I took my street image and with “Control + T” I moved and scaled it into position. Then using the Rectangle Marquee Tool (M), I select the top half of my street image (Q to display Quick Mask) and then I can hide it by clicking on the Add Layer Mask button at the bottom of the Layers panned to create a Layer Mask with the selection automatically blacked out of the mask. _1_comp_proposal_02BThen I took my lighting Image  image and put it on a layer behind the Road image and scaled it with “Control + T” to make it fit with the road. I color matched my Model 3 image to the background image next, by going up to Image > Adjustment > Color Match in your Drop Down Menu. first_comp_03CThen I took my Model 3 image and renamed the layer it’s on to Model 3 and using “Command + T” I moved and scaled the car in to place. Then I used the Quick Selection Tool and selected the road, the sky, and everything except for the car in the image. Click Q to view your selection in Quick Mask mode to make sure everything is selected. Then I hid the background by clicking on the Add Layer Mask button at the bottom of the Layers panned to create a Layer Mask with the selection automatically blacked out of the mask. first_comp_03DFinally I Duplicated the car layer and added a bevel and emboss effect. In the bevel and emboss effect I put the angle to 90 and the shadow opacity to 0. I then added a layer of trees in the background for some depth and the lastly I painted in some clouds and a better glow with my Brush tool.
  2. The Second Ad, I created the image by combining two photos.first_comp_04 First I took my Model 3 image and renamed the layer it’s on to Model 3, then I scaled and positioned it with “Control + T.” Then I used the Quick Selection Tool and selected the trees and sky in the background. Click Q to view your selection in Quick Mask mode to make sure everything is selected. Then I hid the background by clicking on the Add Layer Mask button at the bottom of the Layers panned to create a Layer Mask with the selection automatically blacked out of the mask.first_comp_03BThen I took my Forest image and put it on a layer behind the Model 3 image and scaled it with “Control + T” to make it fit with the car. I color matched my Model 3 image to the background image next, by going up to Image > Adjustment > Color Match in your Drop Down Menu. Finally I added duplicated my model 3 layer.
  3. My Third Ad image was compiled with two images.first_comp_06 First I took my Model 3 image and renamed the layer it’s on to Model 3, then I scaled and positioned it with “Control + T.” Then I used the Quick Selection Tool and selected the ocien and sky in the background. Click Q to view your selection in quick mask mode to make sure everything is selected. Then I hid the background by clicking on the Vector Mask button at the bottom of the Layer panned to Create a Vector Mask with the selection automatically blacked out of the mask.
    Then I took my futuristic city image and put it on a layer behind the Model 3 image and scaled it with “Control + T” to make it fit with the car. I color matched my Model 3 image to the background image next, by going up to Image > Adjustment > Color Match in your Drop Down Menu. Finally I added duplicated my model 3 layer.

The second thing was compiling the text and banners in Illustrator. So in Illustrator I created a new document with “Command + N” and set the intent to print and made the size 7.635″ x 10.5″.

  1. After creating a new document I went up to File > Place and placed the first ad image I created in Photoshop, as well as the Tesla Logo, and the Model 3 logo. I then added the banners and text and here we have one finished Ad_1_comp_1
  2. For the Second ad I created a second art board by selecting the the Art Board Tool and simply copying the first art board over. I selected and deleted the image of the first ad my second art board and instead placed my third ad image from Photoshop by going up to File > Place in the Drop Down Menu. Then I added the banners and text and here we have our second finished ad._1_comp_2
  3. Then I created a third art board by selecting the the Art Board Tool and simply copying the first art board over. I selected and deleted the image of the second ad from my third art board and instead placed my third ad image from Photoshop by going up to File > Place in the Drop Down Menu. Then I added the banners and text to complete my third and final ad._1_comp_3

Now with my Ad’s looking the way I want them, I am ready to export these three art boards as a PDF file.

References

Theme Board Thunder: http://img13.deviantart.net/6c54/i/2010/305/3/b/lightning_bolt_by_nagwolf-d31yg3c.jpg

Theme Board Future City: http://thefabweb.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Billings.jpg

First Ad’s Tesla Model 3 Car: http://static4.businessinsider.com/image/56fdf6ab52bcd066018ba202-2880-1048/header-press.jpg

Street: http://wallup.net/worms-eye-view-road-car-lights-bokeh/

Second Ad’s Tesla Model 3 Car and Station: https://fortunedotcom.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/z-nev01_4.jpg?quality=80

Forest: http://feelgrafix.com/data_images/out/25/948210-tangerine-forest.jpg

Third Ad’s Tesla Model 3 Car: http://onedio.com/haber/elon-musk-surucusuz-otomobillerin-lideri-tesla-olacak–473088

Futuristic City: http://metropolisoftomorrow.tumblr.com/image/814835424

One Comment Add yours

  1. iteachai says:

    Really nice ads Gordon. Good choice of imagery and layout. I would suggest a closer cropping of the first ad so that it blends well with the other ads. Also, if make the quotes run a bit shorter in length. Depending on how wide your page is, the line length could take up a lot of space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

